misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Rosy-Breasted Grosbeak

This favourite finch has just arrived today. Through constant downpours of rain the birds are still chowing down as well as the squirrels.
Yesterday 2 very flashy male Orioles had a mid-air "discussion' about who owns the suet block. While they were going at feet first with claws out, a determined Downy Woodpecker keep stuffing suet in his mouth below them!
This morning for the first time I say Mrs Oriole delicately picking up broken pieces of suet. This is the first time I have seen one. She has the Oriole colouring along her sides but more black along the back and underparts.
I describe all this because they are so overly cautious and flighty I cannot get a good picture yet.
This Rose Grosbeak sat for long enough at the feeder to get blipped today. I think the Orioles can see into the darkened room through the window. They fly away at any movement from me. Shy birds.
I absolutely must get the window cleaned again. It looks like he is eating in a snowstorm. With constant rain predicted for tomorrow, I am not sure when that cleaning will be done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.