Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Chives

This morning I had to go to London as I had a meeting with Gavin and others at his offices about our financial affairs etc. It is very sobering talking about estate planning, inheritance taxes and such matters when you pop your clogs, as particularly when one has children you have to consider these things and plan for the future. With Gavin and I both having financial backgrounds we are very aware of the importance of such things. My father died without a will or any planning and it left my mother, a young 30 year old widow, in a real fix so it is something I am acutely aware of.

After the meeting Gavin took me for a quick lunch. His offices are near Buckingham Palace and it must have been another day of investitures as we saw many people very smartly dressed complete with hats and men in morning suits with tails - of course you would want to look your best when meeting the queen.

I am now home and must start preparing snacks for tonight, as I am hosting book club. We are a small group of eight people and it is always a lot of fun to chat and catch up - and to discuss the book of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.