Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Vince

was a little nervous when I arrived home from work this evening.

Welcome home he said

Why thank you Vince.

I had a bath today, he said. And I washed behind my ears, brushed my teeth, blew my nose and cut my toe nails too, he said. I noticed his hair was slicked back and he was wearing his shirt n tie (although he’s not the tie type). Hmmm I said to myself.

How was Dublin city he said

Oh you know, I said. Lots of traffic, too many people, rushing, rushing..

Ok that’s grand so, he said.(I think he was making small talk)

I was wondering, he said, if emmm

Yes, I said

If emmmm

Yes, I said

If I could borrow the car for the evening.

Emmmm, I said, and why would that be now.

I want to bring a lady for a spin down to Dun Laoghaire to walk the pier.

And who would that be now, I said.

Emmm

Emmm

Emmm

Well it’s Suzy, he said

Whattttt, I said

Suzy from 2 weeks ago who completely bamboozled you.

Eh yes, the same Suzy

But Vince.  You brought her for a stroll around Sandycove - walking on the outside of the path to protect her from muddy splashes, discreetly looking the other way when she powdered her nose, told her the names of all the trees in english, irish and latin and when you gave forth on the local history, she started laughing and chased a cyclist and made him fall off his bike when she nipped his ankles. And she laughed and laughed and you were embarrassed. You booked a window table for 2 in the K9 Kantina (an italian cafe for dogs) she slurped the spaghetti and splashed the sauce all over herself, your white shirt, the tablecloth and even some diners beside you and she laughed again.

You drove her home to the door and without a thank you or a wave, she flounced off into her kennel with not a backward glance.  

So Vince why oh why do you want to bring Suzy out again. I don’t understand.

Well, it’s like this..

Yes, I said

You know the way...

Yes, I ssid

Emm you see

Yeeeees?

It’s just that

It’s just that...

‘The way she laughs is music to my ears’


Well I just handed him the keys.  You have til 9pm I said

Yes, he said


.....


Meanwhile I have to go over all the notes I took today at the course, try to decipher my own writing, google half of it and actually read it over a few times.  So behind on comments and apologies for yet another EB and last minute write up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.