Abstract Thursday : Red or Blue

One of the lasting memories of my school days is walking along the corridors when, out of the shadows, a voice is heard... "Red or Blue"?

Being a child in Bristol you had to be one or the other - Bristol City or Bristol Rovers - and I was neither. I loathed football. 

But it also didn't actually matter - whatever answer you offered it was going to be wrong, and you were in trouble. 

I tried red, I tried blue, I tried neither. I tried running, I tried fighting, nothing made any difference.

Anyway, the way these colours worked one against the other in a steel sculpture today raised memories of raised bruises.

If you approached it from the left, everything was red. If you approached from the right, all blue. A bit political perhaps.

We were at Showborough Sculpture Garden, near the M50 M5 junction where the traffic can be heard even above the noisiest birdsong!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.