A Brick Built Tor

I went up to the disused rifle range near Cold East Cross this morning. I took the drone with me as I thought it would be good to see it from above. I got there and walked up the hill and was pleased to find there was no one about. I found a place in the lee of the wind ( I think there's a reason why it's called Cold East Cross) and did my preflight checks. As soon as I launched I got warnings saying I was on the edge of restricted airspace. I could go up but I couldn't fly over the range. Strange considering it hasn't been used since the mid 60s and was decommissioned in 1977. many people wanted to have it destroyed but it was decided hat it should remain as a piece of wartime archaology. 

I have to say I agree with that decision as there's room on the moor for lots of things. They would allow a village to be built there now but that doesn't mean we have to remove all traces of the deserted medieval village at Hound Tor.

I got a couple of shots from the drone, the best of which I've added as an extra. The mechanical target setting machinery is still in place but very rusty and decrepit of course and beside it is an observation shelter. My main blip is taken from the rear of this looking towards the stop butt which is 55 metres long by 15.5 metres wide and around 9.2 metres high.

I've got an album of shots from a previous visit and I've added today's here if you'd like to see them.

I'll tag it for Derelict Sunday ably hosted by 60plus while Marlieske takes time off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.