NellieD

By NellieD

Where's my car?

Totally forgot to upload my blip and then I realised it was 11.30 pm!  My brain has been elsewhere today after my interview.  

I got off the tram to pick up my car after the interview, saw a gap in the road where I had left it and my heart sank as I thought it had been stolen - until I remembered there was no space to park there this morning and I had to drive to the next station!  Slightly embarrassed that I had to get back on the tram to go back a stop to pick up my car.

Really not sure about the interview so I won't bore you.  Suffice to say the questions felt very negative and weren't very balanced.
Q. Was is the biggest catastrophe you have caused at work, and don't say you haven't caused a catastrophe as I won't believe you. - his very first question.
Q. You got good grades at A-Level so why didn't you go to University instead of 'just' getting an admin job? - this was 30 years ago!!
Q. I find it very hard to believe that you have held down a full time job and balanced your two groups and other hobbies alongside it.  I do not believe anyone is that organised. - well that is exactly what I have done for the last 5 years!

Everything I had to answer just felt like it was coming from a negative place.  I know they have to put you under pressure to see how you react but it would have been nice to have the opportunity to talk about my biggest achievement or my best qualities.  Really not sure what to think, if I feel they are the two people I would like to support and what I would say if they offered me the job as I didn't leave the building thinking "I really want that job".

From yesterday's interview when he asked if I had any children (which I thought you weren't supposed to ask) and for him to say "well I guess it's not for everyone" - when you don't know my history - to having to defend a number of my life choices today, the process is certainly not as straightforward as I had hoped!

Skipping the quote tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.