No. 32 Wood Street.....also European #4

The next building in my onestreet project on Wood Street, number 32, Bella Italia, also falls into my anti-Brexit mini-project of European connections in Stratford.  I spotted the post and flag shown in the inset as I was walking down Henley Street, most appropriate I thought.

I know we are not supposed to be political in blip but I feel the rise of the Brexit party in the UK is a very worrying trend. I had misgivings about 2019 at the start of the year, now nearly halfway through I don't feel there has been many, if any, improvements in this country, or the world.

ps I'm currently watching the tennis semi-final between a Spaniard (Nadal) and a Greek (Tsitsipas) held in Rome, very European!

On a lighter note, we went to the 'almost out of town' shopping centre in Stratford and Ann managed to find some sandals she liked for the weddings.  We celebrated with a coffee in Costa.

As for number 32; back in 1891 the building was occupied by the Tipping family, husband, wife, four daughters and son.  Mr Tipping was a licensed victualler, helped by most of his family except for daughter number one who was a milliner.

A victualler is traditionally a person who supplies food, beverages and other provisions for the crew of a vessel at sea. There are a number of other more particular uses of the term, such as: The official supplier of food to the Royal Navy in the 18th and 19th century was the Victualling Board.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.