Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Seals and ships that pass ...

A grey day after so much sun; drizzle and a cool air after so much bright balminess - a day for catching up on whatever the fine weather had kept me from? Well yes - though in fact the thing that overtook me most was tiredness. It took me all my time to wash up after breakfast before I collapsed in a chair and phoned my pal who's proper poorly (and far too full of cold to visit). That took me nicely to coffee-time; I then found some energy and tackled next week's sermon to get the first draft down safely.

It was late afternoon (again) when we felt like a walk. Today's took us down the Toward shore road, which is where I noticed three seals on rocks at the water's edge. The tide was very low, and you can see two of them clearly perched each on a rock sticking out of the water. Beyond them, the Rothesay ferry is going to disturb them with its wake in about ten minutes when it comes to shore ... I've not seen seals in these waters for months, so it was good to know they were still around.

My extra photo is of the verge near this spot, which is thick with bird's foot trefoil. When I was small we called this little flower hens and chickens, but when I googled that I found it belonged to these small round succulents that nestle in beds of gritty soil. I think it goes much better with the wee yellow jobs.

By the way, did you hear Madonna singing flat all through her guest appearance at Eurovision? Nightmare!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.