Landlubbering

Off to Thessaloniki or Salonica if you will, on the bus. What a fast and convenient mode of travel. Apparently the city is renowned for its vibrant cultural life and is considered to be Greece's cultural capital. Indeed.
So after securing our accommodation we went our separate ways to take in this cultural life. Strangely I ended up at something called the Thessaloniki War Museum. Tremendous! I knew my grandad Chris had been here in WW1 driving trucks but now I know all about the national schism and Venizelos. Fascinating!
Head full, I headed back to the centre past stalls and groups demonstrating election fever to a square where the sounds of Bob Marley wafted beguilingly out a bar selling Erdinger. I needed a seat.
So later, the three of us strolled to Ladadika where the eateries spill out over the pavements and squares. Last night here and I’ve still not had a moussaka. Well, fried birds liver had to get my vote, obviously.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.