Squirrel Blip Friday .....

....  relegated to the extras ...

 .... as I saw my first Monarch butterfly today! And she absolutely had to be my blip today.  This first sighting is more than a month earlier than last year .... which was June 18, 2018.

It was late in the afternoon when I spotted this female monarch back on our very young milkweed.  I grabbed my camera and almost ran out there!  I watched her as she went from milkweed plant to milkweed plant laying her eggs as she went.  I was so tempted to gather the eggs as we did last year but we will let nature take its course for these first batch of new monarchs.  Unfortunately the timing isn't right for us to attend to the eggs and then the caterpillars as we have a couple of trips coming up. But I look forward to checking on them from time to time before we leave and when we return.

Backblipped: May 19, 2019

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.