Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Meadow Pipit under surveillance

I went for a shot stroll this afternoon but I met a Cuckoo that took me on a long uphill walk.  I never got close as it always knew where I was, always behind him and in wide open moorland I had little option but to watch from afar.

I was quite pleased to have spotted the Cuckoo from a long way off as it wasn't doing anything helpful like shouting 'Cuckoo' .

It was doing survey work and I saw it visit 2 Meadow Pipit pairs and at another point it was mobbed by 3 or 4 other birds. So I think it probably knows where all the likely nests are now.

After I had left him to go down hill I was looking for other birds in a section woodland a good way below me and of course the Cuckoo did a flypast and I got a most wonderful binocular view of it in bright sunlight with dark trees behind .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.