Annie's Alps

This scene was in 2016/7 one that I frequently sent to a young lady in Hampshire who I happened to "bump into" on Facebook when researching Myeloma cancer after my first true love (1973-6) Annie told me her husband had just been diagnosed with it.

Pep was to die about 18 months later aged 41. She was an inspiration to hundreds of sufferers & we had a number of very funny exchanges. The Alps link was my "Sound of Music - Climb every mountain" chant when corresponding with her. 

It was Annie's birthday two days ago & while I had forgotten to send a card (she refuses to be on any form of social networking), I also forgot to send an email although I had thought about it days before.

So today sent her this scene attached to an email but well aware she was almost certainly with the family at their holiday home on the Suffolk coast & unlikely to see it for some days.

Back in  March 1976, Annie & I had done an adventurous drive from the UK which included crossing over some passes on the other, Austrian, side of the mountains from Lake Constance (on the right) to Garmisch & then Munich on the left. How we made it is still beyond me.

Today while taking this photo on the afternoon walk with Luna, Luna's original owners from Berlin sent Easter greetings from the Austrian Alps where they were taking an Easter break & with photos of Easter Egg hunting in the snow on top of a mountain. Given the current weather, most of the snow will be gone in days.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.