Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

The Night Before Christmas

Heavy rain kept me inside all day but, eventually, I had to brave the storm as I had some presents to deliver around the village.
So, dressed in our daughters long Highland Dancing waterproof coat ( 20 years old and still going strong- the coat , that is ) big wellies , a head torch round my neck and a see through brolly I set off on my trek just after 4 o'clock, not quite dark but definitely gloomy.

After the usual chat at each house I set off on my return journey about 7 o'clock , camera at the ready for an interesting night time shot in the rain. None all that great but I liked the way the street lights lit up the village school Wild Life Garden which I created with the children before I retired.

Brought back wonderful memories of our search through the woods for broken branches after the forestry workers had cleared some trees. We had so much fun finding suitable branches to make the deer. Back at school we worked with a local sculptor using his tools to work on the wood to create this deer. He finished the actual build with strong bolts and it has been standing there proudly for almost 10 years. I think it has weathered really well and is home to lots of tiny insects as well as providing spaces for other tiny creatures.

Sort of festive in a way as the children wait excitedly for Santa's reindeer to deliver their presents tonight.

Hope you all have a wonderful time this Christmas, best wishes to you and yours for Christmas and the coming year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.