Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Picture of a picture

A city-based day today: bit of shopping in the morning (I can’t resist visiting the Rohan shop and rarely come out empty-handed) and a brief potter in the Scottish National Gallery after a scone in Henderson’s.

I took time today to have a close look at some of the huge canvases I tend to hurry past, but this more modest painting caught my eye. It shows Edinburgh’s Princes Street under construction in 1825 with the building of the Royal Institution, and you can easily see the hugely tall tenements of the Old Town beyond what will become Princes Street Gardens. The artist was Alexander Nasmyth (1858-1840).

Only a short visit, but a satisfying one. And, it has to be said, long enough to give me a bad attack of museum legs ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.