CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Tall Ship 'La Malouine' nearing Gloucester

I've been tracking the approach of the five Tall Ships which are appearing at the festival in Gloucester Docks this coming weekend. They have come from varied places such as northern France, Bristol and Scotland.

Sadly I couldn't watch them sail up the upper reaches of the Severn Estuary to enter the docks at Sharpness as I had to be in Minchinhampton until 1pm, just as high tide occurred. When I got home I grabbed some lunch and watched the tracking website which showed that they had not only docked but were already sailing up the Gloucester to Sharpness canal.

I reckoned that if I hurried I could watch them pass through Saul Junction, but as it happened by the time I'd driven the ten miles to the bridges over the canal, I could only watch their tall masts passing behind the trees in the distance. I drove on a few miles further to Parkend swingbridge and got there just in time to see them about half a mile away down the cut.

I had enough time to change lenses and find a suitable viewing spot with the help of the bridgekeeper. Unfortunately as the direction they were coming in was from south to north, it meant that they were nearly backlit and it would be a bit of a struggle to get good pictures. I may have to come back on Monday when they return to Sharpness and head out to sea once again

From a website:
 'La Malouine' is a brig which comes from Holland where she was operated for eighteen years, under the name of Willem. She was chartered in the Baltic Sea. Her new owner, François Bertrand has found a name that sounds good: La Malouine

This vessel has two masts rising to 22 and 24 meters, 11 sails, with a total area of 480 square meters. She is also equipped with a 140 hp semi-rigid to land on the beaches of the islands. 

The boat can take up to 22 passengers in long cruises (Channel and Channel Islands), and 36 passengers on day trips, with a crew of three men. From October to April, she will work in Cape Verde. 

For more information:
 http://www.la-malouine.com/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.