flavia13

By flavia13

HIGH ON A HILL,,,,,,,,

No there was no lonely goatherd, just Hubby and myself.

Had a lovely little walk this morning on the small Brown Robin Nature Reserve.  Heard lots of birdlife, mostly hatches and blackbirds I think but I'm no good at birdsong, apart from the blackbird of course

It's a short walk but fairly hilly, I'm glad we started off at the top.  Walked across a lovely proper meadow alive with flowers and the occasional buzz, but didn't actually see any butterflies.  There were loads of butterups and clover, some cotton tufts (don't know there real name) and also quite a wild purple orchids.  There had been some bluebells but most had gone now and loads of wild garlic.

In the photo to the left in The Bay you can just about see the Arnside viaduct and of course lovely Arnside itself to the right of it, where Knottman 2 and Gladders reside.  You can also see Ingleborough behind Arnside which is the second highest mountain in Yorkshire.

I've now discovered Wild Flower Week so will be looking to enter into that soon I hope.

For those that don't know the Brown Robin Nature Reserve belongs to the Cumbria Wildlife Trust, of which we are members, but have hardly been to any reserves - yet.  So this is a start.

Brown Robin

Ended up at the back of the Netherwood Hotel.  Hubby went to fetch the car whilst I went and saved us a table in The Hazlewood where we had a lovely lunch, the just came home.

May pop out sometime over the weekend to take some photos but I really intend to sort out The Study junk room and do some boring stuff like housework *sigh*  it comes round with monotonous regularity I'm afraid.

Here's a link to the Hazelmere for anyone wanting to know that doesn't already know.  I usually use Thyme Out, but occasionally like to visit here as the food and service are both good.

Currently watching Swallows and Amazons, the 1979 version, it's a great film.

I'm entering this for Flower Friday as there are wild meadow flowers in the foreground, so I'm hoping that counts.

Do you know I didn't get down on the ground to photograph individual flowers because I did't want the crush the ones surrouding them, wish I had now.  Ahh well another day maybe.

Hope you are all well, see you all tomorrow.

Hazelmere

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.