Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Pitlochry Dam

A big bike ride weekend, and the dry weather has gone. It's pouring as I set off for Waverley station for the train to Pitlochry. At least the rain stops while I change at Perth, but the rain starts again as we pass Dunkeld. Only spits and spots as I walk to the hotel (it's very close to the station).

After dumping the stuff in the room, and assembling the bike, its up to the event village to pick up my rider pack. There's not much of a buzz, more of a damp squib. Kudos to the musicians in the tent playing to a very minimal audience of ten people in the queue, and the staff (plus people manning any stalls, but I can't see them as no one is visiting them)

I return to my room, and head out for afternoon coffee. There's light rain, but I go for a walk across the pedestrian suspension bridge to capture the dreich weather.

While having my tea (pasta for carbo loading) at a nearby café, I notice a bird fluttering away (Extra). It too is gathering its' tea, eating insects squashed on the front of a car.

Back to my room for a quiet evening and an early night. I'm up at 5:10 tomorrow morning. Not a very exciting day. It doesn't take long to fall asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.