Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Crown Fountain, Chicago

As was promised, the unseasonably cold weather yesterday in Chicago turned into a very warm sunny day today! Unfortunately I had an important and lengthy email I had to write this morning and I didn’t get outside until about 1045. I was on an early flight back to London so I only had just over an hour to have a quick walk through Millennium Park and to get some food for lunch.

There are many wonderful things to see and photograph in this park. This is an interesting dynamic piece of public art also acting as a fountain and reflecting or wading pool. This is one of two towers that make up ‘Crown Fountian’. Each tower has many LED screens which display real Chicago citizens. Every few minutes they spout out some water, just as a gargoyle would. Fun to watch! And the kids like playing through the water especially on a hot day. It was controversial when it was built but I think it’s quite popular now.

Read and see more pictures here and here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.