Refuge de Tré la Tête

With rain looming I planned a walk in the forest first thing, I'd thought I was heading towards la Balme, but at the Roman Bridge the lure of gaining height and ambling through wonderful woodland proved too much and I turned off for Tré la Tête.
And what an excellent choice. 
The high alpage pastures in the woods were bursting into life, and the odd steep snow patch added some moments of concentration, but the mountain forest was an all immersive expérience. The calls of Jay's and Nutcrackers, the roar of hidden torrents and glimpses of high looming peaks. Everywhere short lived hard won beauty is emerging, I've tried to show some of the colour I saw in a collage in extras. 

Eventually, a lung busting 800m of ascent later, I emerged onto the little ridge that leads to the refuge. But here I turned 180° and made for the prominent complex summit of Tête Noire. I sat à while in the light rain, simply being at one. And that's when this fine fellow appeared. We spent a few magical moments in each others company. One of us in awe and one of us bemused. Then with a grin he ambled off to join his friends. I met them later as you'll see in extras.

I'd not thought I'd get to get out out this trip, but careful time management, and choosing to work at the computer into the evenings has meant I've been able to make much of the restorative power of the mountains. I'm grateful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.