Slippery Saturday

I had a good session with Thanh today at the library.  We did a lot of talking about words and phrases, and when I used my phone to get an exact definition of a phrase, I discovered that Google has a feature that will let me translate the definition into another language, so I was able to show it to him in Vietnamese.  That may be old hat to you folks, but I was really excited.

Then we read two articles from the Seattle Times, one about drivers licenses for undocumented immigrants, and the other about a epidemiology research paper that demonstrated that people who have meaning in their lives are healthier and live longer than those who don't.  I plan to check out the study myself, but it seemed to be well-designed.  Both made for interesting discussions, and I also heard about his family's day out going crabbing, illustrated with photographs.  Altogether enjoyable.

And then having to deal with cold (I've had the heat on all day) and rain on the way home, when I stopped off to get this photograph.  I don't know what the pale yellow flowers are  - I've never seen them before - so if you do, please let me know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.