A quiet but shimmering Sunday morning

It was windy at the airport and it was by no means certain that my friend’s plane could take off this morning. Fortunately, the winds either subsided or changed direction and she was able to leave.

Madeira has been very quiet this week. The concert was scarily sparse and there are none of the usual busy streets in town. The weather has been stunning and this seemed a bit of a puzzle.

We said something about this to our guide on Friday and she was quite clear. Many Madeirans think it was because of Brexit. This was one of the vulnerable weeks and it seems that people delayed their trips because of travel uncertainties. I suppose that makes sense. Sadly we may have more uncertain times to come.

Once I’d heard that my friend’s journey was ok I took the number 2 bus out beyond the Lido and the Forum and walked back, stopping at the Atlantico for a beautiful lunch on my way.

Now I’m cooling off, with the Giro, before a gentle swim.

Fingers crossed that the winds are kind to my flight tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.