'Holy' Water

I took MrQ to Chipping Ongar to see a man about a job. While we were waiting for the man to turn up Ollie dog and I went to nearby Greensted to see the oldest wooden church in the world. It's the oldest 'stave built' timber building still standing in Europe. The staves can be seen in my extra image.

A rather strange coincidence. I received a message the other day from a dear friend, who I and another good mate used to swim with before she moved out of the area. She has been to Staffa and when I was reading about it I learnt that the name means stave island. The Vikings named it thus because its columnar basalt reminded them of their houses which were built from vertically placed tree-logs.

Ollie enjoyed having a sniff around the church inside and out and had a lovely drink out of the bucket by the tap. :)

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.