Transitoire

By Transitoire

Inventive: Christmas Day

This is my family, but I can't help but notice the one missing. From left to right, my first appearance on Blip, Grandma Sylvia, Holly the dog, Mum, Dad, and April the cat. Quite a little family, but we're close. Here are some failed attempts (cat looks similarly impressed on all)! Also took a few photographs of Grandma Sylvia and Holly, and this is one of my absolute favourite photographs. I think my Dad and the cat, sharing a staring moment also deserves a view.

What a lovely Christmas...and what lovely photography related presents! I have now got a Sigma 17-70mm F/2.8 (one that I had asked for) and a complete surprise in the Canon 50mm F/1.4. A complete shock when I opened the package, and I can only thank my parents from the bottom of my heart. Especially since I was so upset when my first Canon 50mm F/1.8 met its demise on a French tram! My other awesome surprise was a tripod from my Grandma Peggy, that when retracted is about 15 inches (perfect to carry around with me!), which allowed me to take this photograph. So enough about my presents, my favourite present opening moment this morning was when Mum opened her present from Dad, to his exclamation of "If Carlsberg did presents...". Only problem was, she didn't know what it was, and it was, well, rather phallic shaped. This was not helped by Dad then saying "The man in the shop said this was the best one for women"...turns out it was a new saddle for Mum's bike. Who'd've thought?! She loved it once she knew what it was! Was so glad that both Mum and Dad liked the presents I brought them home from France...I'll know what to stock up for them when I'm back...

My morning was spent going to visit Grandma Peggy with Dad while Mum sorted the Christmas dinner. Now because she couldn't come down for Christmas, we decided to bring Christmas to her. And a very enjoyable morning it was too, starting with a lazy drive up to Grandma's to the tunes of Chris Rea, including the corker Driving Home for Christmas. After spending some time opening some presents, showing Grandma Peggy my photographs (she doesn't have internet), having a cup of tea and just having a generally Christmassy morning...I was just so glad that Grandma wasn't in too low spirits. Still wish she could have been at our home for Christmas. On the way home we counted the number of "Grandmas in cars"...everyone seemed to be bringing their family members to Christmas dinners. Made me kind of sad that we couldn't do the same for Grandma Peggy.

So Christmas traditions and stories, every family has them, and all of ours are said and done most years:-
1. This one always comes out with the decorations...Question: "Mum/Elaine (depending on who asks!), you know that fibre-optic Santa...you bought him when you were pissed right?" Answer: "No, I'd had a few drinks, but I would have bought him anyway! I just bartered with the man a bit more!"
2. The one time in all Christmases that Grandma Peggy poured the juice from the turkey that was going to be made into gravy down the sink because she thought it was waste.
3. The time when my rather drunken parents came in on Christmas Eve; and Dad managed to lift a dolls house, handmade by my Granddad, (that had taken two people to lift) single-handedly into the living room from the garage.
4. Grandma Sylvia always brings a trifle. Thing is, the only bowl she has that is big enough for said trifle is a metal mixing bowl...so obviously the rest of the family calls it a "dog bowl". One Christmas she threatened not to bring one if we didn't shut up about it. We didn't. She brought it.
5. Again, another story involving alcohol...sorry parents, you are being portrayed as alcoholics and bad parents here! Once, after coming in...they forgot to put presents in my stocking at the end of my bed. Now, my five year old self thought that meant I had been bad and had no presents; so went into my parents room with, as my dad put it, "the biggest tears I had ever seen on a child" running down my face. My dad went from comatose to bolt awake in seconds...and managed to hide a present in a pillowcase and say it was "silly Santa's" fault. They now both say that is why I get so much at Christmas, the residual guilt!
6. Grandma Sylvia and Dad's competitions to have the most up-to-date electronics. Two years ago, Grandma bought a 50" television...one to Grandma. Then Dad bought one. This year, Dad has a PVR television recorder that will record multiple programmes at once...one to Dad. God knows what they will decide to buy next year!

Awesome Christmas dinner. Awesome company. Amazing family. So glad to be home! The afternoon was spent en famille, having a chat, watching some television and just generally enjoying everyone's company. Perfect Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.