Transitoire

By Transitoire

Inventive: Boxing Day

Again I can only extoll the brilliance of my local camera shop. Completely my own fault, I left both my charger and spare battery in France...and might have only had a bar left for another week and a bit in England if not for these legends. I went to the shop, hoping for the best (i.e. they might be able to lend me a charger or something along those lines), and they went one further...while Dad and I wasted an hour in town, they charged my battery themselves! They also said if I needed to charge it anytime I was in the country and had forgotten the bits to just come into the shop and they'd do it for me. What a lovely set of people.

Now normally we woudn't've left the house at all on Boxing Day, bar to see friends, but as we had an hour to wait we decided to look around the shops. Somehow bought a new coat in the Sale. Was lovely to spend some time with just Dad, as until recently he's been really busy with work so hasn't been able to get the time off...so less time spent together. After heading home we dropped in at Lindsey and Del's...me to have a chat with them, especially since Lindsey spent a year living in Germany....Dad, well he wanted to play table football with Sam and William (we sold Lindsey and Del our old table football table to give as a present to their two sons)! Lovely to see them, and hopefully will see them properly of an evening before I head back to France.

Was a very lazy afternoon, after lunch the family played a few rounds of dominoes...a surprisingly enthralling game! I know, bit geeky. Maybe it was just our family, and Grandma Sylvia was being on cue as usual...although I think we all missed Grandma Peggy. Reassured that she was in such good spirits yesterday, even if she was not well...Dad gave her a ring and she's feeling better than yesterday which makes me even happier. I know I've said it before, but I'll say it again, it's so nice to be home...especially at the Christmas Season. My heart goes out to all those who aren't with their families this Christmas, or who don't get on as well with theirs as others. I spent a good hour writing an email to my friend in China, who can't go home this Christmas because he cannot afford the flights back...I really hope that Christmas wasn't as hard for him as we worried.

So this is April, seen on previous blips here...this time less camera friendly, and attempting to hide under the Christmas tree. She came out for a cuddle as soon as the camera went away!

After walking home with Grandma Sylvia (to help her carry her presents home!) we were back just in time for Margi's visit. Now Margi is an old university friend of Dad's, and has led a very interesting life working for a bank split between France and England. After a catch-up on life and general well-being we got into a very interesting conversation about French culture...followed by a topic very dear to all our hearts, the need for a second language. Not only important in the world of employment, but also in development. To experience another culture is to open your mind to new things...something that I believe everyone should do at some point in their life. Also in knowing another language, you get to experience a country in a completely different way.

Merry Christmas to all, I hope you've had a good one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.