The real oil

The morning was meant to be clinical work before heading to the main hospital building and that part of my job for the afternoon. Waylaid by a couple of meetings. Even so we managed to maintain some movement of patients out of the unit. Important as by afternoon the demands for admission began to become increasingly strident. At which time I was meant to be dealing with other things, only to find myself almost constantly on the phone instead.

Then a quick trip to the central city to see our lawyer to finalise the refinancing, which required us to once again show cause as to why we should be not regarded as terrorists or money launderers or both. Following the lead of large overseas countries, our Government covers up their inability to contain such behaviours by putting ordinary people through multiple hoops (to make us think that the "gummint" has our interests at heart. Meanwhile the true money misusers gamble with your money and mine to make themselves wealthier. None of that gain flows to the ordinary person.

Went back to the unit to sort out some final issues, and then went home to prepare to go to a book launch. Just before leaving the phone rang and calls continued over the next three hours, as cries of the heart were made for me to create an admission bed for a number of different patients. Such cries morphed into hostile suggestions of blocking legitimate requests. Exhausting.

Somehow I managed to remain in my seat and able to hear the publisher, the victim of cyber bullying, another investigative author (Nicky Hager), and Margie Thomson, the author of this book about the appalling behaviour of a man whose blogging name is Whale Oil. S (and one of fellow poets) know the author, and we were there amongst a large crowd for a book launch. The purpose of the book is to call for non tolerance of bullying. Something I could resonate with after this evening.

(I am conscious that I am very inactive on Blip except for my own posts. My apologies to those whom I am missing. I am literally too mentally tired to do much these days.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.