Keith!

This afternoon, Dan and I drove down to London. My niece has her first communion, this weekend, and whatever my misgivings about that, I wasn't going to a) let her down and b) miss a family get together. 

We met up with Milly, who'd come down from Lincoln, in Hampton at about five o'clock. She'd arrived earlier than us and waited in the pub, where the restrictions on paying by card meant she'd had to buy a couple of pints. Perfect preparation for going to see you your Godmother!

I first met Ange just after Hannah was born in 1993 and by the time Milly was born nearly four years later we were close enough friends that I asked her to be Godmother. I went on to become firm friends with her husband, Keith, who, in turn, became Dan's Godfather.

They have three splendid daughters of their own, so we had a cracking evening, the eight of us in their garden. My favourite moment was when the conversation turned to the communion that we'd come down for. Ange explained that there are seven sacraments, of which communion is one. Her eldest daughter went on to tell me what the other seven were, one of which I misheard as "Overcome a nun".

****
-10.8 kgs
Reading: 'How Art Made Pop And Pop Became Art' by Mike Roberts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.