MikeWest

By MikeWest

Laced With Colour

Nature putting on a stunning display of colour to spice up the monotonous greens. These I believe are wild phlox and grow prolifically during spring. I'm finding that an effective shot requires enough mass of plants in one place for the colour to have a strong enough presence. If there's one thing I've learned, it's to look for colour on an overcast day and the vibrant magenta of the phlox fit the bill.

I was able to raise the shutter speed enough by upping my iso to get a sharp capture of quite a few plants in the foreground. It was quite breezy and the tall stems moved easily, so timing was quite critical.

I also opened up the aperture to get more light and in doing so let the background fade to a soft focus helping to isolate the sharper plants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.