Raptor Night

The evening finally arrived for me to join the Cubs at the Falconry.  There were so many for us to see and each Cub was able to  hold a Red-Tailed Hawk, a Harris Hawk, a Great Horned Owl, and a Bald Eagle!! I am not sure if the kids even realized that they were having an experience of a lifetime? I absolutely loved the experience.

The man obviously knew his birds well and he has raised all the ones that he permits to be handled.  My main blip is a Great Horned Owl that is a year old.  Although, he asked for no one to touch it when they were holding her, when he was holding her, anyone could touch her.  However, there was one little one, that was quite happy to be stroked.  Funny little personalities...  In extras, is a juvenile Harris Hawk that was very friendly, though quite intimidating looking close up.  Both shots are straight out of camera as it is late and I wanted to blip before going to bed.

I wonder if I could be employed by the falconry?  I would happily take photos of the birds all day long, if  he wanted  ; ))

With that thought in mind...night all!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.