The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Contrasted Paths

I hope that your day was full of great love and light. I had the great fortune of both today.

I could not have dreamt of a better day; the brilliant sunshine, the warmth of the log fire and the soft music in our living room, a long walk along the Mississippi which crossed my favorite bridge, the laughter and love of a family rejoicing together, the tenderness of the love that we shared. This was a holiday that will be remembered.

I know that many of you had the great fortune of similar experiences today. But, I also wish to reflect on the time I spent today thinking of the unfortunate who have no home in which to celebrate and have no family with whom to share the warmth of this holiday. Their holidays likely did not have the warmth and light of ours. These are the people for whom I wish blessings this evening.

I wanted badly yesterday and today to personally wish you all a Happy Holiday. I did what I could in the time I allotted myself but I fell short of my desires. Last Christmas, Blipfoto was not in my life and I now realize that I need to get well ahead on my Blip-wishes long before December 24 and 25.

And thank you all for your kindness and well wishes.

I processed this as a cross-keyed image and used a vintage film filter. It is a blip of my favorite bridge along the Hidden Falls Trail in Saint Paul. The light today and the shadows of the elm branches played fancifully with the lattice on the handrails as well as the footpath across the cantilevered bridge. If you have the time, plase see the detail of the fine branches in LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.