A Eulogy for a Mother

I have been thinking about the eulogy for Mom's funeral service since before she died.  My sister and I talked about it as we were sitting with Mom on Saturday morning.  I've known I would be the one to write it and to deliver it so it has been in my mind.  Most of the official things are done now, so this morning I decided to sit down and write it.  I found some notes written by Mom on the back of a pink envelope some time ago.  There was a course at church a few years ago which encouraged people to prepare things to make the whole business of dying easier for those left behind and Mom must have taken this to heart.  I made sure I knew where the pink envelope was.  I have been able to use some of her own words in the eulogy.  Good to have something of hers handwritten too.  When I am writing things, I like to hand write them first and then put them onto the computer.  I find the process of writing something with a pen very creative and emotive and easier than tapping away on some keys.  So it is done now.  Mom's story.  My version of it.  My tribute. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.