Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Forçats de la route

just over a month
until the tour de france starts
these four have won it

Multiple times, actually! In Carhaix where I drove to have my phone screen changed and protected by a fake glass. This time the repairman put it on himself - it seems to work better than when I do and have to do it multiple times and then of course it doesn't stick as it should and it makes it difficult to reach the actual screen through it and I take it off and of course that's when I drop my phone and the screen breaks. Sounds familiar to any of you or am I the clumsiest being on Earth? I suspect I might be, actually.

To come back to the subject of my photo. In one of the town's squares, they installed these statues. They are of Lucien Petit-Breton, Louison Bobet, Jean Robic and Bernard Hinault, four Breton cyclists who have won the Tour de France in their respective time. Petit-Breton in the 1900s ('07 and '08), Robic ('47), Bobet ('53, '54 and '55) and Hinault ('78, '79, '81, '82, '85).

I kind of hope this year I'll watch a few stages from a hospital or a physio centre bed... We'll see. I still haven't heard from the surgeon...

The title of my blip is the title of a book Albert Londres wrote about the Tour de France in 1924. Stages then were just a tad longer than they are today. The first stage that year was from Paris to... Le Havre! That's close to 400 km...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.