Border Tails

By Swannie

Silly Saturday - Galashiels Indy March.

We had an Independence march in Galashiels this afternoon. I have never been at anything like it before. The atmosphere was just brilliant. The marchers came from all over Scotland, many had coaches organised, others came by bus and train.

Everything started off up in Scott’s Park, before a march (more a wander) round the town. There were about thirty Unionists with a loud speaker at the fountain, but the marchers just waved at them and drowned them out with their pipes and drums.

I have included some extras. The first one shows two of my friends, Robbie and Blackie, one a Hibee, one a Jambo, but united today for a greater cause. My second extra is one of the many groups that came along. I love the third one, look at the smiles of young and old! The last one is of two very obliging polis who were happy to pose.

I chose the main photo as my blip for Silly Saturday as I loved the caricature of the Scottish Secretary, David Mundel, or Fluffy, as he is known in these parts.

Thanks as ever go to Admirer for hosting Silly Saturday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.