NellieD

By NellieD

Parallel Lines

The group went to North Wales today for a day out to a wool and fabric store.  It's always a lovely day and everyone enjoys spending time with each other.  We each get a 15% discount card and a free tea or coffee and as the organiser I get a £15 voucher.  Since we spent almost £900 last year, we got an extra £30 voucher too which I managed to share out with those that had contributed to last year's spend.

A couple weren't able to come at the last minute but when I saw a group of 3 ladies getting out of their car, I asked if they would each like the spare discount cards.  I saw them a little later with overflowing baskets trying to work out how much more they could spend since they were saving money!

I finally completed my Parallel Lines shawl last night and got some lovely compliments on it today.

On the drive back home I wanted to blip the abandoned Duke of Lancaster ship but I couldn't get closer than hanging over the edge of the gate and trying to avoid waist high nettles.  I would have loved to walk right up to the ship as it is now covered in street art - next time I will have to find the way across to blip it properly.

It was a passenger ferry and cruise liner between 1956 and 1979 .  After it's last voyage, it was to be dry docked and set up as a leisure and retail complex called the Fun Ship but long running legal disputes brought it to a halt. 

In September last year, new plans were going to turn it into a zombie infection game where you navigate your way through the bowels of the ship whilst being chased by zombies!  Unfortunately health and safety meant it couldn't go ahead when they found the fire engines could not safely get across the bridge to reach the boat.  Not for the faint hearted I imagine!!

Quote for today:
I like you, but if zombies chase us, I'm tripping you.
- Unknown
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.