This is our last day in Belgrade, so we took full advantage to go to the recently re-opened Museum of Contemporary Art across the Sava in the Ušće area. We enjoyed the overview exhibition of Yugoslav art up to about 1980, but didn't like the retrospective by Dragan Ilić. After that, and a coffee in a nearby restaurant, we walked back across the Sava by way of Old Sava Bridge, which supplied me a blip (long lens on) of Branko's Bridge, with the old town behind. I see from wiki that the Old Sava Bridge is due for demolition or comprehensive reconstruction (possibly starting as soon as this month...). It's certainly pretty rickety and rattles alarmingly when big heavy modern trams go over it. (And now that I've found it, the wiki article Bridges of Belgrade has provided me with endless entertainment...).

After crossing the Sava, we headed up into the centre and ended up at a Lebanese Restaurant not far from the flat.

I've spent the rest of the afternoon clearing the backlog of photo editing, but the broadband here won't let me upload the photographs to flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.