If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Heading towards Carlisle.

It is a long time since I blipped a steam train.  Out of idle curiosity I was looking at the website the other day and noticed there was a train on the Settle line today.  unfortunately (and unusually) it didn't give the time it would be at various places.  A bit of googling showed it would leave Appleby at 11:50.

So I headed out on to the road near Culgaith where I have had good views before.  When I arrived there was already another car and soon after a third arrived.  We waited, and then did a bit more waiting followed by you guessed, some more waiting.  Just as the first car started his engine to leave smoke showed down the line.

So here she is Locomotive 70000 Britannia at full cruising speed.   She is owned and run by the Royal Scot and General Trust.  I suppose that accounts for the plate saying Royal Scot on the front.  For the technical google tells me she is a BR Standard 7 class, built at Crewe and finished on 2nd January 1951.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.