View from a Window

Today started calmly enough with a few tidying up bits around the house after the busy weekend. My 'new' camera body arrived and I put the battery on to charge expecting to have time later to see how it compares with the EM1 mkii.

Then I received a request to go to St Thomas' Hospital where a family had requested photos of their baby born this morning at 23 weeks. The team of volunteers in this region were at full stretch with three other call outs. It is an easy journey for me although an hour and a half each way by train.

The family was very sweet and very emotional, not speaking or understanding much English so the session was quite challenging. The midwife helping me is the first one I've come across that considered the background against which I would shoot! We managed some family shots but they wanted me to do shots of the baby elsewhere - they had had enough.

The blip is the view from the room we were using of a distorted reflection in an adjacent building, so I grabbed this between other shots as I cannot show anything related to the family or baby. A camera club committee meeting this evening so getting the blip done early!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.