Gateshead Millennium Bridge

Monday 3rd June 2019

I wish every working day could be like this! 

I broke my journey last night because Mum was half way and because it meant she could have a day out today and keep me company. I had to go to Newcastle for a fitting for my robes (post January fire). Yes, I know there are suppliers nearer but this is fully fitted and the service is excellent. I bought my originals there 21 years ago and these need to last approx another 25 (I hope!), I wanted them to be right. 

It has been a lovely day, just right for a drive. The fitting didn't take long and hopefully I'll have my robes this week. We then went on a shopping mission for the church to buy a gift for our curate who is being ordained this weekend. We wanted to buy "X" (Ssh, it's a secret). We found a shop called The "X" shop, so that was a good start. I didn't know buying "X" was going to be so difficult. We visited the shop twice and then went away again for reflection. I even emailed a photo back to someone at church. On the third occasion we bought "X". Hope she likes it! 

We had a lovely lunch and then went down for a short walk along the river to see the millennium bridge. 

Twenty one years ago, when we went for my first fitting of robes, we got lost getting out of Newcastle and managed to cross the river about seven times, we kept getting in the wrong line. It has been a standing joke since. Today I thought I was safe with a satnav but still managed to cross the river three times - twice when I didn't want to and once to get back! 

We got back to Mum's and I had a short break before returning home. I had heard that there had been an accident on the M62 and there were long delays, so I came home cross country, via Skipton. It was still a lovely evening so it was a lovely drive as the sun began to set.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.