CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The sculpted heads by Andrew Wood

I promised to visit Andrew W. today at his nome in the centre of town. We’d bumped into each other last Friday but I couldn’t see him until n ow.

Andrew and I were at school together and even in the same form and then played in rugby teams as well. We weren’t close at school but I met him again after we’d left school in the early seventies when a mutual friend came to stay with Andrew in Uley, near Stroud. Andrew had bought an old chapel and over the years he transformed it and created an arts centre called Prema, which runs to this day.

Andrew is an amazing sculptor and ceramicist and has travelled and exhibited all over the world. Now his health is not good so he is restricted to working from home. We had a long natter and he told me about his latest projects, which I may get to expand on in due course.

One of his older works is this assembly of heads on a sort of globe on top of a stand. It is temporarily sited just outside the doorway of his flat in a new covered workspace. I don’t know what he calls it but it does produce strong reactions.

You can see more of Andrew's extensive work on his website here. Another mutual friend has made a couple of videos of Andrew at work and describing what he is doing. They are on the website too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.