A very young nuthatch shouting to be fed

While working at my desk this morning I heard a plaintiff bird's voice which I thought was coming from the tree close to my first floor study window. I approached slowly and looked into the branches thinking it might be a finch of some sort, possibly a bullfinch which I know are nesting nearby. It has been raining gently all day so the recent busy  insect life will be reduced, and food harder to find.

I've been filling the two feeders close to the house, one with suet pellets and the other with sunflowers hearts. As I looked down I could see both feeders and then saw a nuthatch going between the two. It flew uo into the tree and disappeared. I kept watching for several minutes and then spotted a bedraggled pale nuthatch standing quietly on a branch and then hopping about between leaves.

I went to get my camera and when I returned I saw kit again. I stayed focusing on it and then suddenly a parent appeared in the leaves and I saw the telltale exchange of food into the demanding wide open jaws of the juvenile. It only took a second and then they both disappeared. I watched further and saw at least four nuthaches in the leaves at one time, which suggests my estimate that there may well be two pairs of parents with young might be correct. I'll keep a good eye on them. They will be able to feed flor themselves soon, so I expect to see the parents showing them the feeders in the next few days. They are nesting in trees below the end of our garden on the slopes of the hillside that drops down to the Lime Brook.

Soon after I took this picture I saw a similar scene between a parent tit and it's young. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.