Perfectpotus

By Perfectpotus

Isn't It Iron-ic?

I bought these rusty iron keys over weekend I get that's there's an iron-y about buying brand new old looking things but there's a story behind them which I'll share with you and everything will become clear!  

When I was growing up my maternal grandparents lived in a house that was built in the 1700s and in the garden was a stone out building that we used to call Granddad's Hut, nowadays it would probably be called a man cave.  Granddad was very talented at most things and renovated it himself - he converted half into a pub complete with a bar and the other half was a workshop for his projects.  My grandparents' taste was a bit out of sync with what was fashionable at the time and granddad fitted out the pub in what he liked rather than what was in vogue.  He loved things like old bottles, old broken plates and rusty keys.  I remember him having bunches of old rusty keys about the pub which at the time I just accepted as normal.  

When they downsized, in agreement with the new owners, they left the contents of the Hut in situ as they didn't have room to take it to their new place, so I don't have any mementos of it.  When I saw these rusty looking iron keys at weekend they made me smile and remember my dear grandparents and I had to have them.  I have wondered if I inherited my affinity with rust and old things from them.  I've put a full scale version in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.