40th Anniversary

This morning I attended a special event to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Drymen Library, which was gifted to the village by the late Sir Hugh Fraser in 1979 and where I worked very happily for more than 20 years until I retired.

As well as members of staff, both former and current, and some bigwigs from the cooncil, the event was open to the public. There was a constant flow of tea and coffee and an amazing assortment of wonderful baking on offer. There was also a display of photos covering events in the library over the years, and this beautiful embroidered wall-hanging to mark the anniversary.

Extra   -   Alison, the first librarian when it opened 40 years ago, cutting the anniversary cake; and the three colleagues I worked with: Christina, Marie and Alison.

As if that wasn't enough excitement for the day, I then had lunch in The Clachan with my brother, who is on a short visit to Glasgow from Yorkshire, and Lulabel, who acted as chauffeur. We managed to get a table in the bar, rather than the restaurant, so Mabel was able to join us. As usual she stole the limelight with the staff and other customers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.