Flowers for Mom

Funeral Day today.  These are the flowers to go on top of the coffin - a beautiful willow work casket, a cosy place for a much-loved Mom.  Wendy, the flower lady, brought the flowers to Mom and Dad's house to await the arrival of the hearse.  We were delighted with their brightness and homeliness and their sweet perfume.  The extra shows some of the flowers inside church before the service started.

It all went well.  Everyone who read managed to do it admirably.  There were many comments about how suitable everything was for Mom and that she would have been proud of us.  Big nephew arranged the Wake - very lovely food, and the troubled  young man made us all proud of him when he read a bible passage for his granny.

I have had so many hugs and kisses from so many very kind and caring people who spoke of Mom with respect and love. My eulogy to Mom was well-received and I was pleased to be able to share my feelings about her dementia with people - maybe my experiences will help someone one day.  Dad did very well and he said that he was very pleased with the way things went and that he knew Mom would have enjoyed it all.
A good ending to a life well lived.

Tomorrow, I will go with her to the crematorium.  I have taken her to all the places she needed to go to for the last few years.  So I will be there with her at the last earthly place her body will need to go to.  

Thank you all for your ongoing kindness and words of support. They mean a lot to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.