The Ties that Bind Us

I have changed the original Blip that somehow got itself on to here by mistake!  This little fastening is what is should be (Apologies BT).

I was by myself at the crematorium this morning to make sure Mom got there safely.  She did.  And I was able to spend some time there just looking and thinking.  It gave me the opportunity to really look at the Somerset Willow Coffin - and what a thing of beauty it is.  The detail of it was so fascinating.  The coffin bearers tell me it was a heavy weight on their shoulders and Mom wasn't that heavy!  This beautiful toggle fastening is made of wood, fastened with rope and has the company logo rather tastefully burnt into it.  There are about 6 of these around the coffin and they attach the lid to the box part of the coffin.

I was really pleased to have that time first thing this morning with just Natalie, the very kind and supportive undertaker waiting outside for me.

I left Mom there and took the flowers from the top of the coffin back to church.  This is a concert in church tonight by the Young Musician of the Year, a wedding on Saturday and a Baptism on Sunday so I hope they all like the flowers.

Tired today, but time now to finish off all the little jobs that need doing.  Thank you all for the ongoing support so many of you give me.  I'm looking forward to meeting some of you at the Bristol Blipmeet on Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.