My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Master Brewer

I finally got round to my Brew A Beer Day at Sadler's brewery in Lye, Stourbridge. It was actually a birthday present from last year...but we've been a little busy.

It started by us loading nearly a ton of grain into the hopper for the mash tun (with half a sack of caramalt for colour and flavour). Then it was steeped and sparged before being transferred to the kettle to be boiled up with 3 varieties of hops, added early for bitterness, intermediate for flavour and late for aroma. Once done it was all cooled and transferred to the fermentation tank where I pitched the yeast ready to make 4900 litres of Drop Forge.
All of that with breakfast, lunch, a gift pack of 3 beers and plenty of beer tasting thrown in for good measure. I particularly liked the chocolate and vanilla Mud City stout.

Thankfully Louisa offered to give me a lift (they all went to the Black Country Museum*) so that I could appreciate the day properly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.