Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Bales of silage

Yesterday I noticed that the field I had seen being cut last week was now all baled up for silage. Although the black plastic is not nearly as attractive as the uncovered hay bales, I did like the random pattern they made dotted about the fields, so I planned to go take a photo of them this morning. As I was about to leave home it came tipping down with rain - but within 20 minutes the sun was shining again as you can see here. I am pleased I took this photo today as the farmer was there scooping up all the bales to store away for the winter.

Luke had to come down to London from Durham for a meeting, so he arrived this morning by train and I went up to London to meet him briefly before his meeting. We had a quick lunch at Pret and then after his meeting he returned to Durham - it is only 3 hours by train, which is not bad.

Adam is having a post exam mini break with some of his friends in Barcelona, and today they visited Sagrada Familia. He tells me that progress has been made since we last saw it a few years ago - it is expected to be completed in 2026, 144 years after it construction was started.

Exciting news - the first puppy was born this morning and we are waiting to hear how many will be born and what sex they are. The scan showed four puppies although the breeder estimated that there will be six puppies, as you can never see all of them on the scan. This is her second litter and her last litter produced eight puppies, the eighth one being born much later when mama dog went outside into the garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.