Mossy Roots

One of the joys of walking through the woods at different times of the day (even a few minutes apart) is the way that the sun shining through the trees catches different objects and highlights them. Today it was the turn of this mossy tree to catch my eye. A closer examination revealed a couple of large fungi nestled in the roots - see extra. I think (and I stand to be corrected) it may be Dryads Saddle, although I haven’t seen it like this before.

Later Mrs madwill and I met up with daughter and youngest granddaughter at J32 near Castleford (convenient as it is about halfway between our homes). After coffee and snacks we went to Fairburn Ings, an RSPB wetland reserve which is not far away.

We had a long walk around there, but most of the birds must have been hiding as we didn’t see much, apart from a couple of coots with some chicks (which had grown past the really ugly stage and beginning to look like coots, see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.