Venice In The Rain

Vacation day 6 - Venice

Today we took the train from Rome to Venice.  It was a rainy day, so it was a good day to travel.  We almost got a really late start due to trains being sold out, but the guy at the counter at the Rome train Station was very helpful in getting us booked through and booking our return travel.

We spent some time dodging raindrops but the flooded streets were impossible to avoid.  My daughter was smart enough to wear boots that were waterproof.  My wife and I were not so lucky and we ended up with soaked feet for the afternoon and evening.  I wish I had seen the "tourist boots" when we had arrived.  Silly as they look, I might have bought them!  

Even though it was cold and rainy, we got to take in some impressive sights including the Doge Palace.  Because of the weather we were able to go up in the bell tower in St. Mark's Square without a wait for some amazing views.  Also because of the weather I was able to get this shot of my daughter in the nearly empty square tonight.  It's a little soft because of the longer exposure and being hand held but it's still one of my favorite photos from the trip.

The extras today are of the Bridge of Sighs and a panorama of the city from the top of the bell tower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.