The Chains of Saint Peter

Rome Day 5.  Today we had to say goodbye to my oldest daughter and my mother-in-law.  They left for home early this morning and then my wife, my youngest and I headed out on an ambitious sightseeing day.  We started at the Victor Emmanuel Monument, a huge monument to the first king of Italy with amazing views from up top.  We wandered past the Pantheon but kept going due to the long line.  We dodged a rain storm with lunch in an Irish pub and then took a cab to the Baths of Caracalla.  After touring the grounds there we walked past the Colosseum to Saint Peter in Chains Basilica, where the chains of St. Peter are enshrined under the altar.  It was quite a sight!  Also inside the church is the unique statue of Moses carved by Michelangelo. In our journey we walked over 10 miles and I took over 400 photos!  That's kind of why it's taken me so long to get a post up for today. (Posting on 5/28!)


Extra 1 - Victor Emmanuel Monument
Extra 2 - Baths of Caracalla
Extra 3 - Moses 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.