Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Another funeral today

“maybe death
isn't darkness, after all,
but so much light
wrapping itself around us--” 
― Mary Oliver



Another funeral today which was completely opposite in the service compared to yesterday.   The hymns chosen were sorrowful and the pastor's message did nothing to lift my spirits.  My friend Alice was a happy, lovable woman who was always laughing.   She was such a fun person to be around.    I thought maybe it was just me who felt like the service was wrong for us.   A group of us who met because of Alice introducing us went out to lunch afterwords and one the ladies said that she felt so depressed by the service.   I spoke up and said I felt the same.   Someone said she could hear Alice scolding her hubby in that way she had..."Now Steve, you know that was not right!"    A good laugh as we had lunch in Alice's favorite restaurant where they serve the little baskets of fresh baked yeast rolls she loved to eat.  


I had this quotation in my journal so I felt like it was just what I needed today.  I know I am gathering the light around myself from these friends who I mourn and will miss.  




An abstract of dark and light for Abstract Thursday.   Tomorrow will be a better day.    I need to get myself into the forest along the creek to renew my spirit!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.