If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Blue Dykie.

Well that is what we used to call them when I was a boy and talking my first language - Cumbrian.  For those who don't speak Cumbrian it is a Dunnock, Hedge Sparrow, Hedge Accentor, take your pick.   For those not familiar with English birds it is Prunella modularis.

Being Thursday I made my usual visit to Kanyl.  Sitting out in the sun he suggested, that if he put mealworms out the Starlings would come, then I could photograph them.  Well he put the food out but the Starlings ignored it and flew straight over to next doors feeders.

While we were waiting this Blue Dykie kept appearing and singing at the top of the dwarf conifer.  Unfortunately when singing it was facing away from me every time.  As a species they are on the Amber list for the UK.  This is because of population decline over the last 25 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.